I wasn’t even going to write about this, truly. And I expect the backlash ladies, so come on with it. I know, I know. The Worst Woman Award goes to me, and I’ll accept it, gladly. Because yes, I meet all of the qualifications. And then some. But I refuse to be a damsel, dammit.

By no means am I a Feminist, nor am I against gender equality. I believe with every fiber of my being that I can do anything I put my mind to, and I can meet any goal I set my sights on. I was brought up by incredible parents who engrained the idea of “nothing less than success” in my head, and thank god for that. Because it is not another gender that has the ability to deter me from reaching my highest potential, it is my own mentality and my own level of determination that allow me to do so.

To put it simply, I refuse to sit here and blame another gender for my problems. I refuse to blame another group as a whole for the areas in my life that I deem insufficient. And shame on those of you who want to sit back and condemn me as a woman for seeing things differently than you do. We keep preaching this need to be STRONG WOMEN, but what does that mean exactly? Does it mean uniting as one gender against another gender to prove a point? Because that’s not what strong looks like to me. And further alienating those who share your gender but don’t see things exactly like you do? Not strong at all, weak. I believe in all women. I believe we all deserve the opportunity to live our lives and control our bodies the way we see fit. I believe we should build each other up and encourage each other. But not at the expense of anyone else, and not in a childish, outlandish, immature way.

YES. I understand that I am personally so very blessed, and I have it far better than good. YES. I understand that there are some women out there who have experienced horrible things that should never happen to anyone ever. I understand that there are people out there who think of women as less important than men, less worthy. I understand that some men see women as sexual objects, servants, and lowly in comparison to themselves. And in my not so humble opinion, f*** those people. Those people are the enemy. Those people are who we should be standing against. Not men as a whole, and not women who see things differently than you do.

And I say this because I understand that NOT ALL MEN feel this way. Many men respect women, side with women. Many men want to see women grow, and succeed, and excel in all aspects of life. Pointing the finger at men as a whole, and other women like me for that matter, results in further division. And I think we all know that the very last thing this nation needs right now. So you think chivalry is dead? Probably so, because we slowly killed it. You don’t want men to open doors for you, pay for your dinner, offer to help you change a flat tire? Fine, do it yourself. But I’m going to continue to accept good acts from good people and say thank you very much, sir. Do I need their help? Maybe, maybe not. It doesn’t matter. Good people are good people, and good people should stick together. No matter what gender, race, or religion they identify with. Just appreciate the fact that someone offered a helping hand, because there’s not enough of that in the world anymore.

Really, really bad people exist in this world. Really, really bad things happen to good people. And what do I have to say about that? Life is f***ing tough. You all know evil is out there, you know bad people exist, and you have TWO options. Literally TWO.

  1. BE A SHEEP (not recommended): Whine, complain, point fingers, blame others, make no effort to improve your situation or yourself. Promote division, promote generalizations, promote judgment. Be a victim, allow yourself to be a damsel, hoping someone will rescue you from your own problems. But not a man though, you know, because they all have ill intentions.
  2. WAKE THE HELL UP (12/10 recommend): Be strong and independent, but don’t blame others for your current situation. Obtain your goals through hard work and personal development. Worried about those bad people? You should be! So learn how to protect yourself, defend yourself. Take self defense classes. Get your CHL. Be aware of your surroundings. Don’t be oblivious to the fact that bad things happen literally ALL THE TIME. Become comfortable with being alone and learn how to survive in a not-so-nice-world that’s only going to get meaner. Be self-reliant. Life consciously, with intention. Be respectful, be nice to people. Be a damn adult and stop acting like you are so entitled to everything. Realize this world does not owe you a damn thing, because it literally does not. YOU’RE GOING TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH IT.

The reason this generation is in the predicament that we are in is because there are far more sheep than sheepdogs. No one wants to be the one to do the right thing. No one wants to volunteer to unite human beings, American citizens, good people. No one wants to offer help to others when it may inconvenience them personally. Too many of us are willing to sit back and watch as we burn what was a great country straight into the ground. Stop being so damn selfish. The world doesn’t revolve around you, or me, or your best friend, or any single solitary person on the face of this planet. We are all just visitors here, don’t forget it.

I spent this past weekend camping, and I swear, the more time I spend away from people the more clarity I obtain. Division is division, and that’s all it’ll ever be. So for the sake of literally everything ever, I hope the majority of you will identify with option #2. 

soul

 

 

